project “WAKE UP ERIN!”

so, i’ve NEVER been a morning person. even with a good amount of sleep, waking up in the mornings is tough. seriously, why would i want to leave the comfort of my bed? yeah, i can’t think of a reason either. don’t get started about the beauties of life, and the kids and their smiling faces…because, invariably, they are smiling because they are doing something they shouldn’t be. and the beauty of life…guys, i live in central texas, we’ve just completed our 52nd consecutive day of 100+ degree temperatures. it’s hot. even aidan doesn’t want to be outside.

so anyway, because rousing myself from the comfort of my cozy bed is so difficult, i generally don’t do it until olivia starts protesting her cribbed captivity. usually, theย bigs are also awake at this point and i have to start my day immediately, instead of easing into it. you know, cuppa joe, some quiet time on the internets, a shower…whatever. i have an alarm, but, bad habit turns it off, i turn over and start dreamin’ away again. something has to be done, and the promise of the aforementioned pleasantries just don’t seem to be doing it.

so, i need a volunteer. someone who will be up at 5:45a.m. CST every morning for at leastthe next 21 days. it is supposed to take 21 days to form a habit, so the goal is to go 21 consecutive days of waking up early and then it is supposed to be…well…habit. this wonderful volunteer is to check my twitter (@oneandonly_erin) to see if i have tweeted that i am up. that tweet should happen shortly after 5:30a.m. CST. if i have not, well, a phone call is required. i have very obvious you-disturbed-my-slumber voice and if my slumber has indeed been interrupted by this phone call, well, i’m going to need to be coached out of bed (think football coach) and reprimanded before the twitterverse. oh, andwe start back from day one. hey, maybe someone can offer an awesome prize (3-4 round trip tickets to charleston, south carolina would be nice) if i make it in one shot.

so, to sum it up:

  • i hate rising from my bed.
  • i need someone to be my “coach”
  • this someone will need to be awake enough to check my twitter by 5:45a.m. CST to see if i have risen for the next 21 days by that time (this includes weekends y’all)

anyone up for the challenge?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ladyevelynscrew on August 12, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Well I am up at 6:!5 CST…most days. But I could whip out my awesome coaching voice…it is pretty commanding =) Let me know. Oh! Should I be calling you now?

  2. Posted by Family of Blessings on August 12, 2009 at 8:57 am

    DUDE!!! I’ve offered this MANY times..but I can’t stand the sound of your voice having just woken you up–it makes me feel bad. ๐Ÿ™‚ I even volunteered to come to your house and pull you out of bed and then run away…but you weren’t interested in that either. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Posted by theerin on August 12, 2009 at 9:08 am

    every morning (even weekends!) for at least 21 days. “at least” because it has to be 21 consecutive days. if i sleep on the 21st day, we’d have to start all over again at day one. is that a commitment you want to make?

    5:45 a.m. EVERY day for at least 21 days?

  4. Posted by Family of Blessings on August 12, 2009 at 10:36 am

    lol…I’ll let Sarah call you…you won’t grump at her. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Seriously though, I could do 6:30, but not before, that’s when I take my temperature in the AM and I can’t do anything for 2 hours before that…sorry!

  5. I could probably do it although I’m very happy these days when my Moira lets me sleep in until 6:30. I do miss having some time to myself in the mornings though so I am thinking of trying to wake up earlier too – like at 5:30 so I can get some writing done. That involves going to bed earlier which is my problem – I just can’t seem to fall asleep before 11 p.m.

  6. Posted by theerin on August 12, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    abigail: if i woke up to a phone call by a screaming baby, might have to come over and steal said baby ๐Ÿ˜‰ oh and as for not doing anything pre-6:30am..umm, lappy?

    melanie, you do realize that would be like 4:30 a.m. your time right? i bet if you start waking up at 5:30 a.m. then slumbering before 11p.m. shouldn’t be a problem. waking at 4:30 a.m. would give you better odds at falling asleep before 11!

  7. […] project “WAKE UP ERIN!” […]

Leave a Reply

