are you vain?

on a recent camping trip i witnessed a young woman plucking her eyebrows…and to me, that just seemed a bit extreme for camping. maybe it’s just me though.

what are your thoughts?

before you watch the video, i have to explain that i don’t think people who spend the time to make sure they look nice are particularly vain people. yes, there is obviously a small amount of vanity involved in anything we do to improve our appearance, but there are some who take it too far. it may very well have been that this particular young woman was very self conscious about her looks and it boosted her low self esteem a little to know that she looked GREAT wherever she was…in which case i look like a complete ass for picking on her.

anyway, enjoy.

are you vain?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Whenever I do something to make myself look better I say it is because I am vain (like putting in my contact lenses which I – YAY – don’t have to do anymore). I don’t know if it is a vanity thing though. There are certain things I won’t do like leave the house in sweats unless I am going for a run (and by run I mean walk b/c when was the last time could actually run?). I don’t wear much makeup but I do throw on some tinted chapstick to add some colour to my incredibly pale face. My thoughts on the girl in the bathroom are that she probably feels pretty bad about herself if she feels the need to put on a full face of makeup while camping. I have friends who I have almost never seen without makeup and that is because the think they don’t look good without it. It makes me sad really. My eyebrows are freaking crazy and a girl in grade 8 told me that if I didn’t do something about them she would so I’m still a little obsessed with them to this day (but no time to pluck these days – thankfully the past 20 years of plucking has made them much smaller). I think people need to do what they can to make themselves comfortable in their own skin and if that means plucking your eyebrows while camping then more power to you – but it makes me sad that so many women feel that way and that society tells us our eyebrows & skin need to be perfect.

    Also, are your teeth really that freaking perfect? Because they looked perfect in that video and I have to say I’m a little jealous.

    One with nature, Kumbaya. That made me laugh.

  2. Posted by Family of Blessings on April 14, 2009 at 10:59 am

    To each his or her own. Some people are raised being taught that you cannot leave the house until you are “made-up” and fully ready every single day. I had a friend in college who was TOTALLY impressed by her future mother in law because she NEVER saw the woman without make-up and fully dressed to a “T”. She said it didn’t matter if they dropped in early in the morning or stayed for a few days, she never saw her in pj’s or just relaxed. She was impressed and enthralled by this–and wanted to be just like her! 😦 I guess somewhere I missed the “always be just right” class. 😉 You generally look very nice Erin–it’s pretty rare that you don’t look put together–I will admit, I’ve been a bit jealous of that more than once. . .

  3. Posted by Amanda on April 14, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I think there is a difference between liking to be all dressed up and feeling like you have to. The lady in the bathroom was crazy plus did she have miracle grow on the brows because who plucks everyday?! I obviously only care what I look like when I am going some place that it matters. I just wear jeans and a tshirt to work everyday. Meghan reminds me to pluck, you had to teach me how to straighten my hair and Liz taught me my limited makeup skills. I guess it isn’t a big priority to me because Conor doesn’t care. I know how to look nice but I don’t go the whole 9 yards if I don’t have too.

  4. Posted by Mom on April 15, 2009 at 3:41 am

    I don’t really care if she felt the need to pluck and put on make-up. What bothered me was how rude she and the others were being by hogging the bathroom mirrors and sinks while preening. Do those things in your tent or RV if you feel the need.

  5. Posted by Dad on April 15, 2009 at 5:10 am

    You can thank the orthodontist for that smile.

  6. I was like, “Um… you posted a video??” That’s because I haven’t been getting any of your updates. I just assumed you weren’t blogging!!

    Now that THAT is said, I think you should do more video updates. Take the cam and go somewhere or shoot A as he cooks. With a camera. Never shoot the cook. He feeds you!

Leave a Reply

